The Person in the Body: Five moments inside chronic illness.

Anna DeLuca
7 min readApr 11, 2021

I can feel myself getting older and sicker as I get further into my twenties without a proper diagnosis. The 7–10 years it takes to diagnose Endometriosis is feeling more and more like my reality. I always thought that I could go to a doctor, be present and aware of my symptoms, and create change for myself. This was my first step into medicine, and where I learned that there are no systems to support people like me. Now I’m living in this liminal space with surface level answers, but no way to treat my daily suffering. I’m on year 4 of major symptoms…

--

--

Anna DeLuca

Artist and Writer living in Michigan. University of Michigan ’21. My work is about my own experiences with chronic illness and disability